Google Limits App Reviews to Google+ Members

Thursday Nov 29th 2012 by Developer.com Staff
Share:

The change could help limit spam and unhelpful reviews on Google Play.

From now on, if you want to write a review for an app on Google Play, you'll have to log in with your Google+ account, and the review will include your name and photo. Currently, when Google Play users attempt to write reviews, they see a warning which reads, "Reviews you write will be posted publicly using your Google+ name and picture. Your name on previous reviews will appear as 'A Google User.'"

Andrew Kameka from Mobile Burn noted, "An official reason for the change has not been given, but it's likely meant to curb spam or unhelpful and vindictive reviews. Developers have often claimed that they believe some users give negative reviews for perceived slights or because they are tied to a competitor, and this might be Google's way of cleaning up the comments in Google Play. It is believed that someone will be more respectful and fair when their comments are tied to their name rather than an anonymous pseudonym."

View article

Share:
Home
Mobile Site | Full Site
Copyright 2017 © QuinStreet Inc. All Rights Reserved